Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Msgr. O’Dwyer Retreat House are responsible for:

  • Periodically reviewing the Mission Statement.
  • Ensuring that members share a common understanding of the Board’s responsibilities and duties.
  • Establishing and maintaining good procedures for carrying out the duties of the Board, and for evaluating its performance in doing so.
  • Establishing  goals, policies, programs, and services for the House.
  • Ensuring that goals, programs, and services are implemented in a manner that advances the fundamental purposes of the House and the Mission Statement.
  • Ensuring that the people and organizations that the House serves, and to whom it is accountable, are well informed regarding the House’s purpose, goals, programs, services, policies, and performance.
  • Identifying short-term and long-term needs of the House.
  • Developing an annual balanced budget and oversee operation of the House within the approved budget
  • Seeking and securing necessary funding to ensure the on-going mission of the House.
  • Advancing a positive image of the House and promote goodwill for the House in the community
  • Praying for the success of the House’s operation and the programs held there

Board directors serve upon the appointment of the Archbishop for a three year term, and may serve two consecutive terms.

Board meetings are four times a year (January, March, May and October).

Our Board:

Joseph Slovick – Eastern Savings Bank – Chairperson

John Smyth – Calvert Mechanical Services – Treasurer

Kathleen Wyvill – Maryvale Preparatory School – Secretary

Tom Alban – Archdiocese of Baltimore

Kathleen Birrane – DLA Piper

Frankie Cerquetti – Storia Studio

Meghan Cosgrove – Holy Angels School and Our Lady of Mt. Carmel Parish

Kate Kleintank – Church of the Resurrection

Jason Medinger – US Attorney’s Office for the District of Maryland

Brian Olsen – Skorpa Design Studio

Paul Reif – Glen Arm Building Company

Emily Rodriguez – Northrup Grumman

Kristin Rupprecht – St. Margaret Parish, Bel Air, MD


Patricia Baynes – Baltimore County Public Schools – Emeritas

Frank Savarese – Weyrich, Cronin, and Sorra, Chartered – Emeritus


Phil Howard – Director, O’Dwyer Retreat House, – ex officio

John Matera– Controller, Archdiocese of Baltimore – ex officio

Craig Gould – Director, Division of Youth and Young Adult Ministry, Archdiocese of Baltimore – ex officio